10 Cash Coin of Danish India

21 May 2020  Thu

Danish India was the name given to the colonies of Denmark in India, forming part of the Danish colonial empire. Denmark–Norway held colonial possessions in India for more than 200 years, including the town of Tharangambadi in present-day Tamil Nadu state, Serampore in present-day West Bengal, and the Nicobar Islands.

The success of Dutch and English traders in the 17th-century spice trade was a source of envy among Danish and Norwegian merchants. On March 17, 1616, Christian IV the King of Denmark-Norway, issued a charter creating a Danish East India Company with a monopoly on trade between Denmark-Norway and Asia for 12 years.

Coins were struck during the whole Danish period. They were generally of lead, but from 1667, copper was also used, silver coins were struck occasionally from 1730, and a gold pagoda was struck once, in 1789. The copper coins were usually struck with lower denominations and were known as 1 kash.

The above coin is one of the exceptions to the rule. Denominated 10 Kash, this coin was issued during the rule of Frederik VI. The Obverse depicts Crowned FR monogram with VI between and below. The Reverse depicts X Flanked by stars above value and date.

Image Courtesy: ngccoin.com

Knowledge Base