Silver Rupee of Princely State Kaithal

10 Apr 2020  Fri

Kaithal was a Princely State during the British rule in India. It is located in the Indian state of Haryana. This state was ruled by the Kaithal can popularly known as Bhais. The founder of the Kaithal clan was Gurbakhsh Singh, one of the chiefs of the Phulkian families. His son, Desu Singh, captured the town of Kaithal from its ruling Afghan chief in 1767 and gradually enlarged its borders. In May 1809, the State of Kaithal became a British protectorate. The last ruler of Kaithal, Bhai Udai Singh, died in 1843 without leaving any heir. The State of Kaithal was annexed by the British Government of India.

This silver rupee was issued by Bhai Lal Singh during his rule in Princely State Kaithal. He ruled this kingdom from 1781 CE to 1819 CE. During the reign, he issued gold Mohur and silver Rupee. This silver rupee was issued by Bhai Lal Singh in the name of Ahmad Shah Durrani the founder of the Durrani Empire.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base