The First Sultan of Ilyas Shah Dynasty

06 Sep 2019  Fri

Shams Al-Din Ilyas Shah was the first sultan and the founder of Ilyas Shah Dynasty. This dynasty was one of the leading dynasties of Bengal Sultanate. This dynasty ruled Bengal Sultanate for almost 150 years. In these 150 years, they were also they tried to maintain both their economic and military power. It was the first independent unified Bengal Kingdom under Muslim rule.

This silver tanka was issued by him from the mint Hadrat Firuzabad Mint weighs around 10.62g. The obverse of this coin is inscribed as ‘Al-Sultan Al-'Adil Shams Al-Dunya Wa 'L Din Abu 'L Muzaffar Ilyas Shah Al-Sultan’. The reverse of this coin is inscribed as ‘Sikandar Al-Sani Yamin Al-Khilafa (Nasir) Amir Al-Mu 'minin within a circle’.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm