Periods: South Sudan
Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm

South Sudan Currency

The currency of used in South Sudan is South Sudanese pound. It is subdivided into 100 piastres. Sudanese pound was replaced at par when it was introduced in 2011. South Sudan banknotes feature the image of John Garang de Mabior, the deceased leader of South Sudan's independence movement. They came in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 25, 50 and 100 pounds. Three new South Sundan banknotes were issued in 2011 in 5, 10 and 25 piastres. The Bank of South Sudan issued a 20 South Sudanese pound banknote to replace the 25 South Sudanese pound banknote in 2016. As part of a currency redesign a 1 Pound coin was released to replace the 1 Pound banknote and 10, 20 and 100 pound notes were all redesigned.