Periods: Liechtenstein
Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm

Liechtenstein Currency

The Liechtenstein currency was krone from 1898 to 1921. The krone was divided into 100 Heller. Austro-Hungarian krone and Austrian krone was used in Liechtenstein after the dissolution of the Austro-Hungarian Empire in 1918. Liechtenstein currency then switched to the Swiss franc in 1921 due to krone's instability. The Austro-Hungarian krone or the Austrian krone had the same amount of precious metal. Small-change notes denominated of 10, 20, and 50 Heller were issued in 1920 as an emergency measure to supplement the coins then available. Liechtenstein banknotes of 1920 had a coat of arms in the front with an image of a villa in Vaduz at the back.