Silver Rupee of Khizr Khan

22 Nov 2018  Thu

The Sayyid Dynasty was the fourth of five dynasties that ruled over the Delhi Sultanate. They succeeded the` Tughlaqs and ruled Delhi from 1414 to 1451 AD when Bahlul Khan Lodi took over the Sultanate and established the Lodi Dynasty.

Khizr Khan was the governor of Multan under Firoz Shah Tughlaq. When Timur invaded India, Khizr Khan a Sayyid from Multan joined him. Timur appointed him the governor of Multan and Lahore. He then conquered the city of Delhi and started the rule of the Sayyid in 1414.

As Khizr Khan never assumed full independent charge, the coins were struck and Khutba was read in the name of Mongol ruler Timur and after his death in the name the name of his successor, Shah Rukh. Khizr Khan issued gold, silver, and billon coins from Dar-al-Mulk Delhi mint. These coins are found in the denomination of Falus and Tanka.

One of his gold Tanka is listed for INR 1,00,000 to 1,25,000 at Todywalla Auctions. The obverse of a coin depicts the legend ‘Al Sultan Al Azam Abul Mujahid Muhammad Shah Bin Firuz Shah Sultani’. The reverse of a coin has an inscription ‘Fi Zaman Al-Imam Amir Al Muminin Khulidat Khilafatahu’. Image Source: Todywalla Auctions

Knowledge Base