Gold Tanka of Bengal Sultanate

23 Aug 2018  Thu

Ala-Al-Din Husain Shah led the foundation of the Hussain Shahi dynasty. He was the independent Sultan of the Bengal Sultanate who ruled from 1493 to 1519 AD. He became a ruler of Bengal after assassinating the Abyssinian Sultan, Shams-ud-Din Muzaffar Shah, whom he had served under as a Wazir.

He issued three different categories of coins. It also has different types in it.

1- Coins with the name of the legend on the obverse and Shahada on the reverse.
2- Victory Coins.
3- Coins in which ruler's name is spread on both the sides.

This gold Tanka which issued by Ala-Al-Din Hussain Shah was sold for INR 70,000 by Classical Numismatic Gallery Auction held in Mumbai on 15th March 2013. The obverse of the coin is inscribed with Arabic legend ‘al-Sultan al-'Adil 'Ala al-Dunyawa al-Deen Abu al-Muzaffar’. The reverse of the coin is inscribed as ‘Husain Shah al-Sultan Sayyid al-Ashraf al-Husaini Khallada Mulkahu Khazana’ followed by the date.

Image Source: Classical Numismatic Gallery

Knowledge Base