Silver Rupee of Nasir Al-Din Muhammad Humayun

08 May 2018  Tue

Nasir-al-Din Muhammad is also known by his regnal name, Humayun, was the second ruler of the Mughal Empire. He ruled over the territory of Afghanistan, Pakistan, and parts of northern India and Bangladesh from 1530–1540 and again from 1555–1556.

During the beginning of his reign, like his father Babur he issued silver Shahrukhis, which were introduced by the Timurid ruler Shah Rukh in the early fifteen century AD. These coins are thin broad pieces. Later on, he also issued some heavier silver coins known as Rupee. He has also issued some gold coins of the Shahrukhi type from Agra mint. Some tiny gold coins from Badakshan are also issued by him, these coins are similar to pattern and weight standard of the gold coins of Persia.

Depicted here is a beautiful silver Rupee of Nasir al-Din Humayun. This piece was struck at Bangala mint. The obverse flan of the coin is engraved with king’s name and title in Persian legend which read as ‘Muhammad Humayun Gazi’ within the ornate cartouche. Outer margin bears the continuation of legend, mint name, and partial AH date. The reverse of the coin bore the ‘Shahada’ within a circular linear border ‘La Ilaha Illalaahu Muhammadur Rasulullah’ while the outer margin depicts the name of four Khalifa-e-Rashidoons.

Image Courtesy: Google Images

Knowledge Base