Commemorative Stamps on Chakravarti Rajagopalachari

04 Aug 2022  Thu

Chakravarti Rajagopalchari was an Indian statesman, writer, lawyer and Independence activist. He was the last Governor-General of India, as India became a republic in 1950. He had also served India as the leader of the Indian National Congress, Premier of the Madras Presidency, Governor of Bengal, Minister for Home Affairs of the Indian Union and Chief Minister of Madras state.

Chakravarti Rajagopalacahari was a founder and leader of the Swatantra (Independent) Party in 1959 and also one of the first recipients of India's highest civilian award, the Bharat Ratna. He is remembered for his contributions to the freedom struggle and administrative and intellectual skills.

The Government of India issued this commemorative stamp in 1978 to commemorate him and his work.

Image Courtesy:

Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm