State Kansas was Admitted into the Union as 34th State

29 Jan 2021  Fri

Kansas is one of the states of the United States of America situated in the Midwestern United States. Kansas; is named after the river Kansas, named after the Kansa tribe, a Native American who lived along its bank. The capital of this state is Topeka, and the largest city of this state is Wichita.

Kansas; was first settled by the Americans in 1827 CE with the establishment of Fort Leavenworth. In 1850, during the political war over a slavery debate, the pace of settlement accelerated here in this state. In 1854 with the Kansas-Nebraska Act, the U.S government opened this state for settlement for all the Native Americans. With the Abolitionist free-starters from New England and pro-slavery, neighboring Missouri rushed to the territory to determine whether Kansas would become a free state or a slave state. Before, this area was well known as the hotbed of violence and chaos in its early days as these forces collided, and was known as Bleeding Kansas.

On January 29, 1861; Kansas entered the Union as a free state, hence the unofficial nickname 'The Free State'.

Image Courtesy: Visit philamart to view and purchase variety of stamps from all over the world.

Knowledge Base