Copper Paisa of Independent Kingdom Sikh Empire

14 Aug 2020  Fri

The Sikh Empire is also known as Sikh Khalsa Raj, Sarkar-i-Khalsa, or the Punjab Empire. It was one of the major powers of the Indian subcontinent. The Sikh Empire, established in the second half of the eighteen century by Maharaja Ranjit Singh, who is also known as Sher-e-Punjab; and they diminished the with the annexation of Punjab by the British Empire in the year 1849.

This copper paisa weighs around 8.40g was issued by Sikh Empire from the mint Dehra Raja. This copper paisa issued in the name of Mughal Emperor Shah Alam II in the Hijri year 1215. The obverse of this coin inscribed with the name and title of Mughal Emperor Shah Alam II. The reverse of this coin inscribed with the mint name and Katar and sword.

Image Courtesy: Todywalla Auction

Knowledge Base