Bharatpur or Bhurtpore was a native Hindu princely state of India which belonged to the Rajputana agency. It was founded by Jat Maharaja Suraj Mal in 1733. Located in Mewar region, this state was once an invincible, well-fortified city, and the capital of the empire ruled by Jat Maharajas. The trio of Bharatpur, Deeg and Dholpur has played an imperative part not only in the Jat records but also in Indian history. Bharatpur is currently a part of Rajasthan state of India.

The northern part of the state was held by Tonwar (Tomara) Rajputs, who ruled at Delhi and the southern part by the Jadon Rajputs who had their capital a Bayana. The latter were first ousted by Mahmud Ghazni in the eleventh century, but promptly regained possession. The entire territory passed into the hands of Muhammad Ghori at the end of the twelfth century. For the next 500 years it was held under the ruling dynasty of Delhi. At the time of the Mughals, the state was a part of province of Agra (Sibah), but the northern tehsils with the rest of Mewar country was placed under a special officer.

The rulers of Bharatpur were Jats of the Sinsinwar clan and claim descent from Madan Pal, a Jadon Rajput and the third son of Tahan Pal (rulers of Karauli). It was rumored that one of Madan Pal’s descendents, Bal Chand, kept a Jat woman as his concubine and by her had two sons (Bijai and Sijai) who were not admitted into the Rajput brotherhood, but were regarded as Jats. Having no gotra or clan of their own, they took the name of Sinsinwar from their paternal village Sinsini, and from them descended as the chiefs of Bharatpur.

Click here to download the complete history
Knowledge Base