Deccan Sultanate (Bahamanis)

Also known in history as the Deccan Sultanate, the Bahmani Sultanate was the first independent Islamic kingdom in South India. It was established by Alauddin Hasan Bahman Shah in 1347 CE after successfully revolting against the Delhi Sultan, Muhammad bin Tughluq. The capital of the sultanate was at Ahsanabad (Gulbarga) till it was shifted to Muhammadabad (Bidar) in 1425 CE.

The Bahmani Sultanate was constantly at war with the Vijayanagara Empire for control of the Deccan Plateau. The sultanate reached its peak under the rule of Muhammad Shah III Lashkari with Mahmud Gawan as his Prime Minister.

After 1518 CE, the Sultanate broke up into five small, independent kingdoms.

Click here to download the complete history
Knowledge Base
Whatsapp logoOnline: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm