Periods: Tajikistan
Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm

Tajikistani Somoni

In October 2000 Tajikistani somoni was introduced by Republic of Tajikistan, replacing the ruble which had been in use until 1995. Prior to this the USSR the Soviet/ Russian ruble was in use despite the USSR’s collapse. Tajikistani somoni is divided into 100 dirham for one somoni.

Tajikistan coins were first minted in 2001 and struck in denominations of 5 dirhams, 10 dirhams, 20 dirhams, 25 dirhams and 50 dirhams composed of brass-clad steel. 1 somoni, 3 somoni and 5 somoni were minted in nickel-clad steel. In 2003 bi-metallic 3 somoni and 5 somoni coins were issued. The reverse of all Tajikistani coins changed annually to commemorate people or events. 5 dirhams, 10 dirhams, 20 dirhams, 50 dirhams and 1 somoni new Tajikistan coins second series was released in 2012. In 2018 a third series of Tajikistani somoni coins was introduced in denominations of 1 somoni, 3 somoni and 5 somoni. Tajikistan coins were mainly struck at Goznak in Russia.

More information on Tajikistan coins just a few clicks away. Happy browsing!