Periods: Kyrgyzstan
Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm

Kyrgyzstan Coins

The Kyrgyzstani som is the official currency of Kyrgyz Republic. On May 10, 1993 the decision to create a national currency was approved and the first Kyrgyzstani som was released which replaced the Soviet ruble. The first Kyrgyzstan coins were minted in 1995 for numismatic purposes and were made of precious metals. However, it wasn’t until 2008 when circulation coins were first minted in Oskemen (or Ust-Kamenogorsk) in Kazakhstan and introduced into circulation. The Kyrgyzstan coins were issued in denominations of 10 and 50 tiyin (also spelt tyiyn and tyin) made of brass-plated steel, and 1, 3 and 5 som, made of nickel-plated steel. A nickel-plated steel 10 Kyrgyzstani som coin was issued a year later for 2009. Kyrgyzstan has issued several Kyrgyzstani commemorative non-circulating coins made of silver and gold, and a special collector’s issue of brass 1 tyiyn coin.