Periods: Israel
Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm

Coins of Israel

The currency of Republic Israel is the Israeli New Shekel and is based on a decimal system: 100 agorot to 1 israeli shekel. The Israeli pound was the currency of the State of Israel from June 1952 until 23 February 1980. This was replaced by the Israeli shekel until 1985 followed by Israeli New Shekel in 1985.

Israel coins in denominations of 1 agora, 5 agorat and 10 agorot and ½, 1, 5, 10 Israeli New Shekel were introduced. Production of 1 agora pieces ceased in 1990 and was removed in circulation the next year. The 5 agora coin was last minted in 2006 and removed in 2008. Israeli Shekel Coins are minted by Korea Minting and Security Printing Corporation (KOMSCO).