Periods: British North Borneo
Knowledge Base
Online: 9.30 am to 6.30 pm

British North Borneo Coins

British North Borneo (now known as Sabah), a former British Protectorate and crown colony, occupies the northern tip of the island of Borneo. The island of Labuan, which lies 6 miles off the northwest coast of the island of Borneo, was attached to Singapore settlement in 1907. It became an independent settlement of the Straits Colony in 1912 and was incorporated with British North Borneo in 1946. In 1963 it became part of Malaysia. British North Borneo coins consist of the Colonial Period.

From 1882 to 1953, the British North Borneo dollar was the Borneo currency of this state. It was subdivided into 100 cents being equal to 1 Straits dollar. British North Borneo coins and banknotes were issued by the British North Borneo Company. Half cents and 1 Cent bronze coins were first minted followed by 1 cent, 2½ cents, and 5 cents in copper-nickel, and 25 cents in silver. Under the Royal Charter of 1881, coins were originally issued under the "British North Borneo Co" name. In 1803 they were minted under "State of North Borneo". All coins depicted the state coat of arms on the obverse and denomination on the reverse. These were last minted in 1941 and later phased out and replaced by the Malayan dollar.

Enhance your knowledge on rare British North Borneo coins and old coins of British North Borneo by browsing Mintage World.