Jaipur was ruled from the 12th century till India's independence by different rulers in different ages such as Dhundhar kingdom, Kachwaha kingdom, Amber kingdom and Jaipur Kingdom. The state was directly ruled by Mughal Empire and then indirectly by the British. It was centred around Jaipur and nearby areas with Jaipur town as a capital.

The Maharajas of Jaipur traced their roots to kacchwaha clan of Rajputs who claimed to be descendent of Hindu God Rama. After the collapse of Mughal Empire, Jaipur witnessed internal conflicts with Jats, Marathas, other Rajput states, Pindaris and the British. From 1818, it entered into the subsidiary alliance system with the British. During Revolt of 1857, Maharaja decided to remain loyal with the British and sent military forces to assist the British to suppress the uprising in other places.

Jaipur was incorporated into Union of India in 1948 and later became the capital of Rajasthan state.

Jaipur Kingdom, also called Kingdom of Amber or Dhudar, was established by Dulaha Raya in 957 AD. After Jahangir’s death, Jodha Bai gave Amber kingdom to Jai Singh I who was the nephew of Maan Singh. He served Aurangzeb and received highest dignities from the empire. He was also made a commander of 4000 by Shah Jahan and led the war against Southern Sultanates. The same army was sent to lodge a war against Gond kingdom. Because of the successful ventures led by Jai Singh, he was promoted to the rank of 5000 and Chatsu district was added to his Amber kingdom. He expanded his rule in the north too by defeating Meo robbers of that area.

Ram Singh I succeeded the throne and he was the eldest son of Jai Singh I. He served with his father in various campaigns and received Mughal nobility with the rank of commander of 3000.

Click here to download the complete history
Knowledge Base