Knowledge Base

Coins to Malacca

Malacca is a state of Malaysia on the west coast. It was settled from Sumatra in the 1300’s and occupied by the Portuguese in 1511.Malacca was later captured by the Dutch in 1641 and held by the British from 1795 to 1802 and 1811 to 1818. It finally ceded to Britain in 1824. The attribution of the coins to Malacca is uncertain. All were struck in England on behalf of merchants in Singapore and all have an Arabic legend Tanah Melayu Land of the Malays, above a rooster.